New online resource – The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law

It is good news for everyone studying or researching international law that Taylor Library has online access to The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law. This online resource includes two encyclopaedias: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law. The latter was only recently launched. The encyclopaedias provide comprehensive, analytical entries containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law.

Follow the hyperlink above to get access to The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law. On the top right of the Home page, under the title, you can find three tabs: Browse all, Subject and Author. Click on the ‘Browse all’ tab to see the alphabetical list of the encyclopaedia entries. You can narrow down your results by selecting Module, Subject or Author on the left-hand side of the page. In the Module section, you can specify which encyclopaedia you want to browse: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law or Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law. Clicking on Subject will open the alphabetical list of different topics, e.g., ‘Air law & law of outer space’, ‘Diplomacy or consular relations’, ‘History of international law’, etc. If you are interested in the entries of particular authors, please click on the Author tab, and select their names. The Subject and Author tabs are also available on the top of every page, next to the Browse all tab.

Once you have opened an encyclopaedia entry, you can read the full text online or save it for a later time by selecting a delivery option, such as print, download and email from the top right of the page. The Contents tab, on the left-hand side of the screen, will give you visual aid. You can quickly navigate to different sections of the encyclopaedia entry by selecting an appropriate title from the Contents tab.

If you need further assistance, please let us know. Also, remember that the volumes of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law are available in hard copy in the library.

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

IAReporter database

Taylor Library is pleased to announce that we have now set up a 6-month trial to IAReporter (Investment Arbitration Reporter). Our complimentary subscription ends on Friday 31 December 2021. The database is tracking international arbitration proceedings between governments and provides the latest developments and policy trends in investment treaty arbitration.

Accessing IAReporter

If you are working from off-campus, it is necessary to access the database using the VDI (Virtual Desktop Infrastructure). Then search for the database in Primo. If you cannot find it, please follow the steps below to get access to IAReporter:

If you experience any problems with the VDI, please contact the IT Service Desk.

Key features of the database

IAReporter opens with the Home page which provides quick access to News Headlines, Document Downloads, and the most recent Arbitrator Profiles. You can Browse News By Theme by selecting Countries/Regions, Forums/Processes, Hot Topics, Industries, and Major Treaties from the right-hand side of the screen.

On the top of the Home page, click on the tabs to get access to News/Analysis, Case Profiles, Arbitrator Profiles, and other useful sources. The Video Tutorials tab can provide visual aid if you want to learn more about the available resources.

Case Profiles

Case Profiles display key statistical information about arbitration cases. The page opens with a list view and offers access to more than 1400 key decisions. It lists the party names, the type of the arbitration (e.g. Treaty, Contract, Domestic Law), the year, and the status of the case (Pending, Concluded or Unknown).

On the left-hand side of the screen, you can either Search Cases or use Filters (e.g., Case Status, Respondents, Claimants, Year, Arbitrators, etc.) to narrow down your results.

Arbitrator Profiles

On the Arbitrator Profiles page, you can find each of the most active arbitrators in the field of investor-state arbitration. The page lists them in alphabetical order. Click on the name to see the profile of the person, the cases they were involved in (as a Claimant, Respondent or Co-Arbitrator, etc.) and the status of the individual cases (Pending or Concluded).

Arbitrator Analytics visualise key data related to the selected arbitrator, e.g. Known Appointments by Date, Source of Known Appointments As Wing Arbitrator and Source of Known Appointments As Presiding Arbitrator, etc. You can also read Recent IAReporter Coverage About the person at the end of the Arbitrator Profiles page.

Please remember that IAReporter is for non-commercial use and private research only. No materials can be shared with anyone outside the University of Aberdeen. Also, to get a realistic picture about the usage of the database, we recommend not to share materials within the University either. Thank you very much for your cooperation in this matter.

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please let us know.

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

Best of luck with your exams

As exams are fast approaching, we would like to help your preparation by sharing a few links to law databases and e-book collections. So, if you still need some revision, please check out the resources below.

DATABASES

Westlaw database

Westlaw provides full text access to UK case law, legislation, and legal journals. The database also provides full text access to 374 e-books. Current Awareness on Westlaw UK enables you to stay up to date with the very latest developments. Unfortunately, we do not have a subscription to Practical Law.

Please read our library guides to learn more about the database:
Westlaw UK – quick guide
Westlaw UK – cases
Westlaw UK – legislation
Westlaw UK – UK and international journals

Lexis Library

Lexis Library is an important source of full text legal information. It provides access to UK, EU, US and international case law, legislation, and law journals. The News section of the database gives access to a wide range of national and regional newspapers including Scottish newspapers.

Our library guides:
Lexis®Library – key features
Lexis®Library – searching for case law
Lexis®Library – searching for articles in UK and international legal journals
Lexis®Library – searching for newspaper articles

HeinOnline database

HeinOnline is a particularly useful source of older journal articles, old English cases, U.S. and other international resources and materials on Scottish Legal History.

Library guide: HeinOnline – quick guide

NOTABLE E-BOOK COLLECTIONS

University Press Scholarship Online – UPSO

UPSO is a cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to the full text of titles published by internationally significant university presses including OUP, Yale, Stanford, Fordham, Chicago, and many others.

Click on the title to go to the collection. Under the logo, University Press Scholarship Online (in the top left corner), you will find Browse by Subject. Click on the arrow and select Law. On the left-hand side of the screen, you will find filters to narrow down your choices. Select Unlocked and Free titles from the Availability section. Your search will return with 2138 titles. You can further narrow down the results by choosing Subject on the left hand-side of the screen.

SpringerLink

Springer’s collections include access to the full text of thousands of sciences, medical and social sciences e-books. Please note, we do not subscribe to every title in this database. The green square next to the item indicates if we have full text access to it.

After opening SpringerLink, on the left-hand side of the home screen, you can browse by discipline. Click on Law to navigate to the law subject page. Please do not forget to deselect the ‘Include Preview-Only content‘ box to limit your search to subscribed titles. Still on the left-hand side of the screen, you can find more filters, like Content Type, Language, Subdiscipline, etc. We advise you to select Book from Content Type box to get access to 2178 full text e-books.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central is one of the biggest e-book collections we have access to. It contains more than 180,000 authoritative, copyrighted books supplied by over 180 leading scholarly publishers. The titles cover many different subject areas, from Social Sciences, Law, Medicine, Science, and Computing to Education, Fine Arts and History.

Click on the title Ebook Central to link out to the collection. On the home page, under the Search box (in the middle of the screen), click on Browse by Subject, then select Law. You will be directed to the Law subject page from where you can get access to 8314 full text e-books.

We hope, you will find the right resources which can help your preparation. For more information on library services and resources, please follow the link here.

We wish you all the very best with your exams.

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

Law resources requiring VDI for off-campus access

Members of the university (staff and students) can access the databases and e-book collections to which the University of Aberdeen is subscribed. To access them, simply login with your university IT username and password.

Most databases only require a Shibboleth/institutional login on- or off-campus. But there are a few which need an IP address authentication when you are working off-campus. For them, please use the University’s Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI).

The following law resources are only accessible through VDI from off-campus:

  • Kluwer Arbitration is an online resource for international arbitration research. It contains a wealth of commentary from expert authors and an extensive compilation of primary source materials.
  • OGEL – Oil, Gas and Energy Law Intelligence has transcended national borders. With privatisation, restructuring, the emergence of competitive markets, cross-border energy trade and regional integration, legal instruments from one jurisdiction have a bearing on others – they provide a model, a legal precedent, a directive, standard or guideline for further regulatory implementation.

There is another useful resource which can help your research in the oil, gas and energy law field, even if it is not a law resource:

  • OnePetro (SPE) is an online library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.

If you wish to access one of the above-mentioned databases while off-campus, please follow the guidance on the Remote Access section of Toolkit. Select the Remote VDI link in the ‘Guides’ section. Once you have logged in to the VDI, navigate to ‘Library Resources’ and from there to Primo. Remember to sign in to Primo to get full text resources!

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

Good luck with your exams

student-in-library-with-laptop

© CollegeDegrees360. Licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.

As law exams start from today, we would like to wish you all the best. We hope you are well and well prepared for the exams. During revision time, quite a few of you asked about online resources. You know very well how to access e-books and electronic journals through Primo, but not everybody is aware of the fact that more and more publishers give us free access to their academic collections. This means that there are more law resources available online than before. This post will highlight a few notable collections:

Bloomsbury Professional

The publisher, Bloomsbury Professional, has given us free access to the following law textbooks:

  • Gretton & Steven: Property Trusts & Succession
  • MacQueen & Thomson: Contract law in Scotland
  • Thomson: Family Law in Scotland
  • Dewart & MacQueen; Studying Scots Law
  • Himsworth & O’Neill: Scotland’s Constitution Law & Practice
  • Guthrie: Social Work Law in Scotland

Please email us at lawlib@abdn.ac.uk for the link to the collection and for username and password.

Oxford Law Trove

Another important resource is Oxford Law Trove, which is Oxford University Press’s online platform for law textbooks. You can get temporary access to more than 190 titles there.

To access this collection, follow this link to the Library’s web page at:
  1. On the library page, go to the Temporary Access to Additional E-Resources section.
  2. Scroll down to Oxford Law Trove, and click on the arrow next to the title.
  3. Follow the link provided in that section to log in to the collection.
  4. On the publishers’ login page, check the left hand side of the screen under the Law Trove logo, and in the pale blue login box, click on Sign in via your Institution.
  5. On the next page, find and select University of Aberdeen.
  6. An authentication box will appear, and you will need to enter your university IT username and password to log in to Law Trove.

Within the collection:
– You can click on the Subject tab (on the top left of the screen, under the Law Trove logo) to see the different categories there,
– or, you can use the Search box in the top right corner of the screen.

Westlaw UK

Finally, do not forget that there are law textbooks available on Westlaw UK. The route to the Westlaw UK database is the same as it was: through Primo.  Once you have logged in, click on the arrow next to the Westlaw logo (on the top left corner of the screen), and select Books from the drop-down menu. On the Westlaw Books page, browse through the 336 book titles available to you.

Starting today, you will have a few days to finish your law exam questions online. If you need further help with accessing or using databases or the above mentioned collections, please contact us at lawlib@abdn.ac.uk.

Taylor Library Team 

 

Tips for new postgraduate law students

IT problems

© CollegeDegrees360. Licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.

Are you a new postgraduate law student at the University of Aberdeen?  Do you have assignments to submit?

Here are some practical advice before submission:

Good luck with your assignments.

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

 

OECD resources in Taylor Library and online

OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) is an international organisation of governments that work together to “understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. It measures productivity and global flows of trade and investment. It analyses and compares data to predict future trends. It sets international standards on a wide range of things, from agriculture and tax to the safety of chemicals.” (OECD website)

As the above definition suggests, the OECD collection can provide valuable data for researchers in a wide variety of disciplines. The library services at University of Aberdeen provide access to students and academic staff to the OECD collection on paper  in Taylor Library, or online, through the OECD iLibrary database.

OECD resources in the library

OECD

Taylor Library has an extensive paper collection of OECD documents on Floor 2 in Taylor Block D. We have a large selection of periodicals, books, pamphlets, reports and statistics. Items are catalogued differently in this collection; the shelfmarks have an OECD- prefix attached. The library holdings cover the years between 1961 and 2004. For documents after 2004, please use OECD iLibrary database.

OECD iLibrary 

The database contains all the publications and data-sets released by not only OECD but also the International Energy Agency, the Nuclear Energy Agency, the OECD Development Centre, PISA and the International Transport Forum.
It covers different subject fields from agriculture and food through economics, education, employment, energy, environment to health and social issues. From 1998 onwards, through OECD iLibrary, you can access:

  • 15 240 e-book titles
  • 77 950 chapters
  • 231 820 tables and graphs
  • 2 185 articles
  • 6 165 multilingual summaries
  • 6 370 working papers
  • 7 billion data points across 79 databases.

If you need help with this collection, please get in touch with us.

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

Understanding citations – CASES

  1. INTERPRETING CASE CITATIONS

GENERAL RULES

What does case citation mean?

Case citation is a system of referencing by which legal professionals can identify a legal case heard and decided by one of the courts in the UK.
A full case citation starts with the Case name in italics followed by the neutral citation (where available) and/or the reference for  law report series where the case was published. The citation tells you where to find the case (in paper or online) if you need it.
For cases from Scottish and English courts, the citation usually has 3 distinct parts:

  • year
  • abbreviation (for the law report series in which the case was published)
  • page number.

Parallel citations

You may see more than one citation following the party names. These are parallel citations, and refer you to the case in different law report series. You do not need to find all the law reports which published the case to read it. You should use the most authoritative citation which is the first one right after the party names. Parallel citations offer an opportunity to find a case in different law reports if the library does not have the most authoritative source.

Neutral citations (case identifiers)

The neutral citations were introduced in the UK in 2001, and in Scotland in 2005. This system means that decisions of the superior courts in both Scotland and England are issued with unique judgement numbers. So, the last number after the abbreviation is not a page number but the identifier of the case.

courts-1

ANATOMY OF A CASE CITATION

scottish-cases

english-cases

neutral-citation

*Law reports are usually cited by abbreviation rather than the full title. Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations can help you understand the meaning of abbreviations for the titles of English language legal publications.

2. TRACKING DOWN CASES ON PAPER AND ONLINE

Law reports are available on paper in Block C and Block D of the Taylor Library. They are shelved by title in alphabetical order running down the right hand side of the lower level of the Library. The current parts of law reports are on the display stand near the entrance. All law reports are for reference use only.

For electronic versions of the law reports you have to consult the legal databases (Westlaw, Lexis Library, HeinOnline). Alternatively, you might want to check Primo, our resource discovery tool, for individual law report titles. (Do a ‘title search’ instead of a search by citation.) Please note that not all years are available for all law reports.
For more information on accessing and using legal databases, please read our library guides.

3. PRINCIPAL SERIES OF LAW REPORTS

SCOTLAND (this is not a comprehensive list of resources)

  • Session Cases (SC)
  • Scots Law Times (SLT)
  • Scottish Civil Law Reports (SCLR)
  • Scottish Criminal Case Reports (SCCR)
  • Scottish Criminal Law (SCL)
  • Green’s Weekly Digest (GWD)

ENGLAND (this is not a comprehensive list of resources)

  • The Law Reports

4 subseries within The Law Reports:

Appeal Cases (AC)
Chancery Division (CH)
Family (Fam)
Queen’s Bench (QB)*

  • Weekly Law Reports (WLR)
  • All England Law Reports (All ER)

*It can be King’s Bench (KB) – it changes with the monarch.

If you have any questions or need assistance, please visit the library or email us.

Taylor Library & EDC
 lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

 

New Look Westlaw UK is live

Westlaw UK has recently undergone some major interface changes, refining many features and bringing the general look and feel in line with Westlaw International.

As before you should access Westlaw UK via Primo, our resource discovery tool. Users familiar with the previous Westlaw UK interface will have no trouble locating cases, legislation and articles etc, as the content header tabs are similarly displayed at the top of the page in the collections navigation bar. Clicking on any of the main content tabs opens up a second layer of tabs, providing in depth searching and browsing options. You can also search across all collections or browse by topic right from the home page. The Options button allows you to select specific collections to search across.

Westlaw UK new look homepage:

Westlaw UK new look homepage: The collections Navigation Bar, Options button and Browse by Topic highlighted

Cases

The Cases tab opens up to Cases Home in the second layer of tabs giving you the option to search for specific cases by Free Text, Subject/Keyword, Party Names or Citation. The next two tabs in the second layer provide browsing options, so you can browse by court or by law report series title.  The fourth tab allows you to search for Quantum Reports. This one is a new addition, stay tuned for updates.

WLaw2

Westlaw UK Cases Home page: Second layer of tabs highlighted at the top, and More Options for advanced searching

Legislation

Clicking the Legislation tab takes you to Legislation Home and allows access to a complete collection of consolidated UK, Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish Acts and Statutory Instruments which you can browse or search directly. Clicking More Options at the bottom of the search box enables you to search across historical and prospective legislation. The rest of the second layer of tabs provides options to browse organized lists of:

  • UK Primary & Secondary legislation
  • UK Bills & Drafts
  • Policy & Guidance
  • Latest Legislation
  • Key Legal Concepts

Journals

The Journals tab is where you can find full text UK legal journal articles from major publishers such as Sweet & Maxwell, Oxford University Press and Cambridge University Press.  You can also link to over half a million article abstracts from UK and EU legal journals.

Within any collection search page you can open up collection-specific advanced searching facilities by clicking on More Options at the bottom of the search box. This way you can refine your search to show only the most relevant results.

Westlaw UK’s document display pages include smartly organised links to a variety of supporting materials in the menu bar to the left of the display window. To the right of the display window are various Delivery options that allow you to email, print, download, you will also find options to organize documents using the Personalisation Tools:

Personalisation Tools

At the top of the Westlaw UK interface there are some features that allow you to personalise your research experience, such as: Favourites, Folders, History and Alerts. To make the most of the personalisation tools click on User Guides in the grey footer at the bottom of Westlaw UK and click Personalisations in the menu on the left side of the page for step by step instructions.

For more information and help using the database, Westlaw UK has a comprehensive User Guides section which you can access from within Westlaw via the link in the grey footer at the bottom of the page.

Our detailed library guides on Westlaw UK will be going live on the University Website later this week. And once term starts there will be regular library workshops on how to make the most of this resource.

Lexis Library: News & International collections unavailable

Lexis Library’s News and International Materials collections have been moved to a new platform. Unfortunately at the moment we are unable to access this content. If you require a specific document held in either of these collections, please email the Library at library@abdn.ac.uk. Please include details of the item(s) you require and your contact details.

The Library is in contact with Lexis Library and we hope to regain access to this content soon. Please note that all other collections within Lexis Library are unaffected.