Good luck with your exams

student-in-library-with-laptop

© CollegeDegrees360. Licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.

As law exams start from today, we would like to wish you all the best. We hope you are well and well prepared for the exams. During revision time, quite a few of you asked about online resources. You know very well how to access e-books and electronic journals through Primo, but not everybody is aware of the fact that more and more publishers give us free access to their academic collections. This means that there are more law resources available online than before. This post will highlight a few notable collections:

Bloomsbury Professional

The publisher, Bloomsbury Professional, has given us free access to the following law textbooks:

  • Gretton & Steven: Property Trusts & Succession
  • MacQueen & Thomson: Contract law in Scotland
  • Thomson: Family Law in Scotland
  • Dewart & MacQueen; Studying Scots Law
  • Himsworth & O’Neill: Scotland’s Constitution Law & Practice
  • Guthrie: Social Work Law in Scotland

Please email us at lawlib@abdn.ac.uk for the link to the collection and for username and password.

Oxford Law Trove

Another important resource is Oxford Law Trove, which is Oxford University Press’s online platform for law textbooks. You can get temporary access to more than 190 titles there.

To access this collection, follow this link to the Library’s web page at:
  1. On the library page, go to the Temporary Access to Additional E-Resources section.
  2. Scroll down to Oxford Law Trove, and click on the arrow next to the title.
  3. Follow the link provided in that section to log in to the collection.
  4. On the publishers’ login page, check the left hand side of the screen under the Law Trove logo, and in the pale blue login box, click on Sign in via your Institution.
  5. On the next page, find and select University of Aberdeen.
  6. An authentication box will appear, and you will need to enter your university IT username and password to log in to Law Trove.

Within the collection:
– You can click on the Subject tab (on the top left of the screen, under the Law Trove logo) to see the different categories there,
– or, you can use the Search box in the top right corner of the screen.

Westlaw UK

Finally, do not forget that there are law textbooks available on Westlaw UK. The route to the Westlaw UK database is the same as it was: through Primo.  Once you have logged in, click on the arrow next to the Westlaw logo (on the top left corner of the screen), and select Books from the drop-down menu. On the Westlaw Books page, browse through the 336 book titles available to you.

Starting today, you will have a few days to finish your law exam questions online. If you need further help with accessing or using databases or the above mentioned collections, please contact us at lawlib@abdn.ac.uk.

Taylor Library Team 

 

New Look Westlaw UK is live

Westlaw UK has recently undergone some major interface changes, refining many features and bringing the general look and feel in line with Westlaw International.

As before you should access Westlaw UK via Primo, our resource discovery tool. Users familiar with the previous Westlaw UK interface will have no trouble locating cases, legislation and articles etc, as the content header tabs are similarly displayed at the top of the page in the collections navigation bar. Clicking on any of the main content tabs opens up a second layer of tabs, providing in depth searching and browsing options. You can also search across all collections or browse by topic right from the home page. The Options button allows you to select specific collections to search across.

Westlaw UK new look homepage:

Westlaw UK new look homepage: The collections Navigation Bar, Options button and Browse by Topic highlighted

Cases

The Cases tab opens up to Cases Home in the second layer of tabs giving you the option to search for specific cases by Free Text, Subject/Keyword, Party Names or Citation. The next two tabs in the second layer provide browsing options, so you can browse by court or by law report series title.  The fourth tab allows you to search for Quantum Reports. This one is a new addition, stay tuned for updates.

WLaw2

Westlaw UK Cases Home page: Second layer of tabs highlighted at the top, and More Options for advanced searching

Legislation

Clicking the Legislation tab takes you to Legislation Home and allows access to a complete collection of consolidated UK, Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish Acts and Statutory Instruments which you can browse or search directly. Clicking More Options at the bottom of the search box enables you to search across historical and prospective legislation. The rest of the second layer of tabs provides options to browse organized lists of:

  • UK Primary & Secondary legislation
  • UK Bills & Drafts
  • Policy & Guidance
  • Latest Legislation
  • Key Legal Concepts

Journals

The Journals tab is where you can find full text UK legal journal articles from major publishers such as Sweet & Maxwell, Oxford University Press and Cambridge University Press.  You can also link to over half a million article abstracts from UK and EU legal journals.

Within any collection search page you can open up collection-specific advanced searching facilities by clicking on More Options at the bottom of the search box. This way you can refine your search to show only the most relevant results.

Westlaw UK’s document display pages include smartly organised links to a variety of supporting materials in the menu bar to the left of the display window. To the right of the display window are various Delivery options that allow you to email, print, download, you will also find options to organize documents using the Personalisation Tools:

Personalisation Tools

At the top of the Westlaw UK interface there are some features that allow you to personalise your research experience, such as: Favourites, Folders, History and Alerts. To make the most of the personalisation tools click on User Guides in the grey footer at the bottom of Westlaw UK and click Personalisations in the menu on the left side of the page for step by step instructions.

For more information and help using the database, Westlaw UK has a comprehensive User Guides section which you can access from within Westlaw via the link in the grey footer at the bottom of the page.

Our detailed library guides on Westlaw UK will be going live on the University Website later this week. And once term starts there will be regular library workshops on how to make the most of this resource.

Law subject resources – Public Information Online

8737200170_0975ecc980_o

© UK Parliament

Every law student knows the law databases very well. We do not need to introduce Westlaw, Lexis Library or HeinOnline to you. But, did you know that there are other useful databases which can help your studies and research? One of them is Public Information Online (PIO).

PIO is a full text database which provides access to Parliamentary publications from the Westminster Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly, National Assembly for Wales and Scottish Government. It also contains Non-Parliamentary material.

You can find all kinds of official publications through the database whether you want to track a Bill, read a debate in Hansard, find a Command Paper or read an overview of an Act. PIO allows you to see any UK Act dating back to 1988 and it’s amending Statutory Instruments.

One of PIO’s best known features is a directory, Civil Service Yearbook for detailed information on the structure, department and key personnel of the Civil Service of all central and devolved governments.

Online access to PIO database is available through Primo. Please login to Primo at the top right corner of the screen first, then on Primo Advanced Search, click on the ‘Find Databases‘ tab, and select letter ‘P‘ for Public Information Online.  If you are working from home, and you were presented with an authentication page, simple login with your university username and password, and start your search.

For more information, please read our Official Publications library guide or visit us in the Taylor Library.

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

Law databases

Are you searching for dissertation topics? Or,  just need some legal resources? Before you begin your research and get lost in the rising sea of information, let us help you with a few useful links.

Check out what the law electronic databases can offer to you. These are excellent tools, and no matter what stage your studies are at, you can rely on them.
Please, find the mainstream legal databases and their training materials here:

Westlaw UK Westlaw logo

Westlaw International

Lexis®LibraryLexisNexis logo

HeinOnline                                                       HOL_fullcolor

 

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

Using the UPSO e-books collection (Oxford University Press Scholarship Online)

UPSO is an important source of electronic books for law. We currently have access to content in this library until 2017 under a deal which includes publications from a number of UK and US university presses, including Oxford University Press. This database contains significant collections of books for public international law, constitutional and administrative law, philosophy of law, criminal law and criminology, human rights law and EU law, but many other law subjects are also included.

Access
1. Go to Primo
2. Select Find Databases
3. Click on ‘U‘ to see databases starting with this letter
4. Scroll down to University Press Scholarship Online and click on the database

Your search
1. Specify a subject area by clicking on Select next to Search my Subject Specializations (under  the search box).
2. Enter your search terms in the search box or use the advanced search option to         introduce more concepts to your search or to specify a year range.
3. When UPSO returns the results, locate the narrowing options on the left. Tick the Unlocked, Free and Open Access boxes and submit, to only see content that we have full text access to.

Your book
To read a book click on the title to open the record and select relevant chapters from the Table of Contents. You can read a full book online but under the terms of the license agreement an individual user is only permitted to download a PDF of one chapter from a book. Do this by clicking on the View PDF link for the chapter you wish to download. This link can be found at the top right hand side of the chapter.

Note:
When working off campus you must login through the link to the Access Management Federation on the database website. Choose University of Aberdeen, then enter your university username and password in the Shibboleth authentication screen.

Enjoy using UPSO!
We are here if you need any help.

Eleni Borompoka
Taylor Library & EDC
01224 272601
eleni.boro@abdn.ac.uk
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

Tip of the day: House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

 

UK Parliament

© Maurine. Licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.

Did you know that the library provides direct access to the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP)?

The HCPP has different collections, e.g.:

  • 18th century collection (1688-1834),
  • 19th century collection (1801-1900),
  • 20th century collection (1901-2003/04 session),
  • 21st century module 1 (2004/05-2009/10 session),
  • Hansard (1803-2005).

Through the collections you can search more than 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers. To get access to the database, please follow the steps below:

  • Visit the library home page,
  • Use the quick search box of Primo, and type ‘House of Commons Parliamentary Papers’ in the search box and press enter,
  • Finally, to select the database from the result screen, click on ‘View online’ tab.

For more information, please read our Library Guide on the Official Publications Collection.

Taylor Library Team
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

 

Tip of the Day: Lexis®Library revamped

LexisNexis logo

One of the most important legal databases, Lexis®Library has recently undergone a major redesign. LexisNexis, the database provider introduced changes at the end of 2015.

With the new service enhancement, Lexis®Library has a clearer display, a more sophisticated Home Page and more intuitive search facilities. The users have the option to search across ALL subscribed legal content, including Lexis®Library and LexisPSL.

The new Academic User Guide, provided by LexisNexis could help you learn more about
the changes.
To find out more about the database, please read our updated library guides:

Staff at the Help Desk in the Taylor Library are happy to provide further assistance.

Zita Szabo
Information Assistant
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

Notes on using SpringerLink e books

SpringerLinkThe SpringerLink database comprises collections of books, journals and reference works. It covers numerous disciplines from Architecture & Design to Social Sciences, and, among them, you can also find Law. A significant part of the law collection deals with contemporary problems of international law, environmental law, criminal law or legal theory. The database also provides a wide coverage across other law subjects.

SpringerLink is one of only a few publishers that permit you to lawfully download a whole book to you computer or mobile device, and keep it indefinitely for your own educational or research use.

Remember, downloading books for others is not allowed. Please only download what you need for the research, course or assignment you are working on – mass downloading to build up a library of your own is unfair on the publisher (and authors) and not permitted.

You might find the following instructions useful to get access to this database:

  1. Go to Primo
  2. Select Find Databases tab (on the top of Primo screen)
  3. Click on ‘S‘ to see databases starting with this letter
  4. Scroll down to SpringerLink, and click on the database
    – Using on-campus computers, you will be directed to the database at once
    – In case of off-campus access, you might be asked to log into the database
    (Please provide your University username and password)
  5. Once inside the database, check the ‘Browse by discipline’ section, and select Law 
  6. On the left hand side of the Law page, you can find different boxes:
    Deselect Include preview-only
    – Select Book from the ‘Type Content‘ box
    – Select English from the ‘Language‘ box (Of course if you wish to read books in
    other languages, you have to select the relevant language)
  7. Finally, you might like to check the Subdiscipline box to see the different law subjects the database, SpringerLink could offer to you.

From your result screen, click on the book title you would like to read or download, and follow the onscreen instructions.

Good discovery, reading and research, everyone!

Taylor Library Staff
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

 

Finance (No.2) Act 2015

Westlaw logo

The Finance (No.2) Act 2015 is now on Westlaw UK with all amendments and commencement information.

Westlaw UK aims “to publish all new legislation the morning after publication, with new amendments highlighted within 48 hours. Case digests are written for the most influential cases on the day the judgment is delivered, with Status Icons of all the affected cases updated within 24 hours.”

Elaine Shallcross
Information Consultant, Law & Business
e.shallcross@abdn.ac.uk

LexisNexis announces upgrade to Lexis®Library

LexisNexis logoSubject to a successful release, a number of ‘cosmetic’ changes to Lexis®Library take effect on
Saturday 5th December.

LexisNexis have reported the following improvements to Lexis®Library:

  • A more intuitive search experience.The Explore search box moves to the heart of the homepage and includes content filters.
  • A tidier, bigger, better display of results. Single results list opens up the page, with filtering in one place and the option to deliver multiple documents.
  • The option to search across ALL subscribed UK legal content. In one place for the first time, including both Lexis®Library and LexisPSL content included in the search results.
  • Glossary searches move to the home page. Get quick access to over 3,300 legal terms.”

Please see the new Academic User Guide for updated product guidance.

Staff at the Help Desk in the Taylor Library are happy to help with any questions regarding the changes to Lexis®Library.

Elaine Shallcross
Information Consultant, Law & Business