Finance (No.2) Act 2015

Westlaw logo

The Finance (No.2) Act 2015 is now on Westlaw UK with all amendments and commencement information.

Westlaw UK aims “to publish all new legislation the morning after publication, with new amendments highlighted within 48 hours. Case digests are written for the most influential cases on the day the judgment is delivered, with Status Icons of all the affected cases updated within 24 hours.”

Elaine Shallcross
Information Consultant, Law & Business
e.shallcross@abdn.ac.uk

LexisNexis announces upgrade to Lexis®Library

LexisNexis logoSubject to a successful release, a number of ‘cosmetic’ changes to Lexis®Library take effect on
Saturday 5th December.

LexisNexis have reported the following improvements to Lexis®Library:

  • A more intuitive search experience.The Explore search box moves to the heart of the homepage and includes content filters.
  • A tidier, bigger, better display of results. Single results list opens up the page, with filtering in one place and the option to deliver multiple documents.
  • The option to search across ALL subscribed UK legal content. In one place for the first time, including both Lexis®Library and LexisPSL content included in the search results.
  • Glossary searches move to the home page. Get quick access to over 3,300 legal terms.”

Please see the new Academic User Guide for updated product guidance.

Staff at the Help Desk in the Taylor Library are happy to help with any questions regarding the changes to Lexis®Library.

Elaine Shallcross
Information Consultant, Law & Business

Tip of the Day: Need to find a journal article on your reading list?

 Example:

 Neal Kumar Katyal, ‘Active Avoidance: The Modern Supreme Court  and Legal  Change’ (2015) 128 Harv. L. Rev. 2109

1) Start by finding the full name of the journal.

 To obtain the full title, go to Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations. Consult our  library guide if you need help with this resource. 

 2) Once you have the full name of the journal (Harvard Law Review in this example)  enter it in the Primo search box in the Advanced Search option and change  material type to Journals. Make sure you are in the Books+ tab. 

 Remember to log in to Primo before you start searching!

Primo Journal search

Click to enlarge

 3) The name of the journal will usually be at the top of your results list. Click on the SFX   button and ‘Open source in a new window’.

 ‘Read this now’ lists the databases through which we have access to this title,  including years of coverage.

 ‘Get this later’ will take you to the catalogue where you can find out if we have this  title on paper.

 4) Check the year coverage in the ‘Read this now’ section and click on GO to link out to  the appropriate database. (The one including the year you are interested in.)
Harvard Law  Review articles from year 2015 are obtainable through HeinOnline and
Lexis Library.

 5) Every database is structured differently but the general rule is that once in, you need
to try and find the list of years available, or the archive or, in the case of Westlaw
and Lexis the list of years in the Browse section.

 6) Check your citation again to make sure you are in the right year, then find the volume  (or issue number if there is one) and lastly, look for the page number.

 If you are not managing to find the article this way, still inside the journal (step 6) use the  search box and enter words from the title of the article! Always check your citation  thoroughly to make sure you have found the right article.

***

 Have a look at our PowToon slideshow on finding legal journal articles.
(Switch  Autoplay to ‘on’ to watch this presentation as a video.)
Warning: The Primo interface has slightly changed since this video was published.  However, the search mechanism is still the same.

 Please come and speak to us if you have any questions!

 Taylor Library Team
 lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

 

The benefits of creating a Westlaw UK profile

Westlaw logo

Westlaw can help you to better organize your research. With a Westlaw profile
you can:

  • add documents to folders
  • email/print/download documents
  • create alerts
  • and use the Linkbuilder tool.

You can still access, email, print and download individual documents or result lists without a profile, but if you are planning to use Westlaw a lot, you will definitely benefit from the extra features that a profile offers.

Important:
Access to Westlaw UK should always be through Primo whether you are creating a profile or not. Login to Primo and go to the Find Databases tab at the top. Click on ‘W’ and scroll down until you reach Westlaw UK. Click on the link. The database might ask you to provide your University username and password, a process also known as
Shibboleth authentication.

To create a profile:

Once you are linked out to Westlaw (through Shibboleth authentication) you will see a smaller window with the heading ‘Log in to My Westlaw UK Profile’ prompting you to Log In or Skip.

Create profile final

1) Click on Create Profile. Provide your first name, last name and your email address and click on Create.
2)  Go back to your email to obtain your password. Login to your profile will be by           providing the email you registered with (as your username) and a password.
3) Enter your username and temporary password. When you sign in to My Westlaw UK for the first time, you’ll be asked to change your password to something more memorable. This needs to be between 6 and 25 digits long.

new password

Next thing you will see is this screen:

When you have finished setting up your profile and Log In, your name will appear at the top blue line. Westlaw will always suggest that you log in to your profile.

The benefits:

Adding documents to folders    Picture1

When you find a case, journal article or piece of legislation that is of interest to you, save it in a folder so you can go back to it later. How? Simply click on the Add to Folder icon on the right of the light blue line across the top of the screen. An Add to Folder menu will open. You can save the document in one of your existing folders, or, for first-time users: create a new folder by typing a name in the box and clicking on New Folder. Next time you login to Westlaw, you can visit your folders from the My Folders link at the very top of the screen (dark blue line). All of your saved documents will be there. A great way of organizing your findings!

Creating alerts     ALARM

If a specific case is of particular interest to you, you can create an alert for it and thus be informed of any changes; e.g. when its status changes, or when it gets referenced in a journal article, when it’s cited by another case, or when another case has been heard between the same parties on a different point of law. To create a Case Alert, go to the Case Analysis document, the full text or Graphical History and click on the Create Case Alert link at the top right hand corner of the screen. (Looks like an alarm clock.) You can also create an alert for a list of results from a specific search.

Click on Alerts (blue line at the top) to go back to your saved alerts and run a search again or edit it, or to change the way your alerts are set up!

And…

The Linkbuilder tool   linkbuilder

This feature allows you to create direct links to material on Westlaw UK. The links can include authentication; meaning that upon clicking on them, users will have to provide their University username and password. You can create and send links to result pages, individual documents or search templates.

To use this feature you need to have a profile with Westlaw. Next step is to contact Westlaw UK Customer Support Team on 0800 028 2200 or by email at:  customer.service@westlaw.co.uk and request access to the Linkbuilder tool.

To create a link:

1) Navigate to the document and click the Build Link icon on the top right hand corner of the screen. You will be presented with a link creation screen. (The Linkbuilder screen.) You can choose your method of authentication here:

2) For the University of Aberdeen authentication is via the entityID URL for Shibboleth. (Deselect the Save sponsor code option.)
Enter the following in the entityID URL box: https://shibserv.abdn.ac.uk/shibboleth and make sure the Save entityID URL box is ticked.

3) Click Copy to Clipboard at the bottom of the screen. The link is now ready to be pasted into any document. Remember that you can also ‘hide’ links under citations or words (in other words, linkify words or parts of text) if you are creating and publishing
material online.

Read this guide to find out more about the Linkbuilder tool.

Tip: If you skip logging in to your profile and later decide that you would like to use the extra features that a profile offers, the way to log in is by clicking on the Westlaw UK icon at the top left hand corner, then clicking on MyWestlaw to bring up the log in window! Your name will appear at the start of the blue ribbon at the top.

Remember to Log Out!

—————————————————————————————————————–

For more information on using Westlaw UK, find our Library guides here.
Come and see us in person if you need help with Westlaw or any other legal database!

Eleni Borompoka
Taylor Library & EDC
01224 272601
eleni.boro@abdn.ac.uk
lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

 

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies: New guide to Nigerian legal resources

IALS_logoPreviously, we told you about the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies library membership and the useful Current Legal Research Topics Database.

Today we would like to draw your attention to the brand new library guide on Nigerian legal resources, published on the IALS website.

The guide is free and highlights official sources of law in Nigeria, including material physically held in the IALS library and material freely accessible online. The guide aims to help researchers by offering an overview of the key Nigerian law resources.

If you have any questions, please email us at lawlib@abdn.ac.uk.

Have a good week,

Eleni Borompoka
Senior Information Assistant
Taylor Library and EDC
eleni.boro@abdn.ac.uk

http://bit.ly/IALSlibrarymembership

http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/nigeria

New instructional video: Finding law e-journal articles through Primo

Needing to find an online journal article but unsure where to start?
Why not watch our short video on finding law e-journal articles through Primo…

You can find it under the Instructional Material tab in our blog, or online through our youtube channel.

TaylorblogInstructionalMaterial

More videos on how to use the Taylor Library resources and facilities to come soon!

Just keep checking the list of our Instructional Material and hopefully you will find the right video to help you make the most of our library!

If you have any questions about this or any of our videos, please email lawlib@abdn.ac.uk

Eleni Borompoka
Senior Information Assistant
Taylor Library and EDC
eleni.boro@abdn.ac.uk

 

 

Tip of the Day: OECD iLibrary

OECDiLIB
OECD iLibrary is the library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. It also has publications of the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Through the OECD iLibrary, you can get access to:
  • 9,900 e-books
  • 96,700 tables and graphs
  • 4,370 articles
  • 4,330 multilingual summaries
  • 4,490 working papers
  • and 5 billion data points across 42 databases.

The database is available via Primo. Please use the quick search box and type OECD iLibrary in the search box, and press Enter.
Finally, to select the database from the result screen, click on View Online tab.

Access to OECD

For more information, see Library Guide – Official Publications Collection.

Taylor Library Team

HeinOnline Tips and Tricks: Dropbox

HOL_fullcolorDid you know that HeinOnline has recently added the ability to download PDFs from the database directly into your Dropbox Account?

Dropbox is a document storage solution that makes it simple to save all of your photos, videos, and files in one convenient place.

Dropbox lets you:

  • Get to all your files from any computer, tablet, or phone
  • Share documents, photos and entire folders easily
  • Restore all of your files, even if your computer ‘melts down’

More information on this new feature is found here.

Elaine Shallcross
Information Consultant, Law and Business
e.shallcross@abdn.ac.uk

New look Public Information Online website

The Public Information Online website has recently been re-designed. The site is a one stop shop for information from Westminster, the Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland and the Welsh assemblies. The people at PIO have recently produced some new promotional material too. Have a look at their video:

…and their brochure for more information.

Ross McClure

Senior Information Assistant
Taylor Library and EDC (European Documentation Centre)
University of Aberdeen

r.mcclure@abdn.ac.uk